You cannot delete a disabled account before you restore it. Suppose Facebook disables your account, head to the help page, and fill in a given form to restore your account. If you deactivated your account, log in to it to reactivate it. After reactivating, navigate to privacy and settings, click it and choose ‘your Facebook information. Click ‘deactivate and deletion’ and then click ‘delete account.’ Input your password and click ‘continue’; your account will be deleted.
- You need to restore a disabled account to delete it.
- If you deactivated your account, it would be reactivated when you log in
- If Facebook deactivates your account, you will need to fill in a form to request for review and reactivation
- Facebook disables an account if it doesn’t follow its terms.
- You can delete your account by navigating to ‘deactivation and deletion’ privacy and settings on your profile
- If you initiated account deletion, you could cancel it within 30 days
Facebook can disable your account if you breach the terms and conditions for use. If you believe you didn’t make a mistake, request your account reactivation. You can then proceed to permanently delete it if you so wish. If Facebook doesn’t restore your account after filling out the account appeal form, you can contact them to request permanent deletion. Sometimes Facebook automatically deletes an account or indefinitely leaves it disabled. This article explains why your account may be disabled and how to reactivate or delete it.
Why Facebook may disable your account
Facebook may disable your account if you do not follow its terms. But, when you file an appeal and provide additional information, your account can be reactivated. Some of the reasons your account may be disabled include:
- Using fake names
- Posting offensive content
- Joining too many groups
- Scraping the site
- Messaging too many people at once
- Contacting others to harass, advertise, promote or do other things against Facebook community standards
How to delete a disabled Facebook account
Follow the steps below to delete a disabled Facebook account;
Step 1: Recover your Facebook account
It may be hard to recover your account if you violate Facebook’s community standard. However, if you didn’t make any mistakes follow the steps below to reactivate your account:
- Go to the Facebook appeal form to initiate an account investigation
- Input your phone number or email address associated with the disabled account
- In the ‘your full name field, enter your full name that matches the one listed in your Facebook account.
- Upload the picture of your Identification Card (ID) in the required field.
- Near the end, there is an ‘additional information field’; explain your situation and provide any information that may help restore your account, e.g., if your Facebook name differs from your legal name, provide a justifiable explanation.
- Click ‘send’ to submit the form. If Facebook contacts you for further information, provide it within 30 days. Failure to which, your account will be permanently disabled.
NOTE: If you disabled your account, just login in to reactivate it.
Step 2: Navigate to settings and privacy, click settings and choose ‘Your Facebook information from the left menu
Step 3: Choose’ deactivation and deletion’
Step 4: Choose ‘Delete Account’ from the options that appear and then click ‘continue to account deletion’
Step 5: Click ‘delete account,’ and you will be prompted to enter your password. Key in your password and click continue to delete your account permanently.
N/B: You have 30 days to cancel deletion, after which your account and all data will be permanently removed. You won’t retrieve any data after 30 days, but Facebook may take up to 90 days to remove everything from your feed. However, other people won’t access information from your account during the deletion process.
What happens when you permanently delete your Facebook Account?
Deleting your account is something that you should think about very well since it is permanent and cannot be canceled after 30 days. Below is what happens when you decide to go on with the process;
- You cannot reactivate your account unless you cancel deletion within 30 days
- You cannot use Facebook Messenger anymore
- All information on your account will be permanently removed, including your profile, posts, photos, and videos. You cannot retrieve anything from the account.
- You won’t use Facebook logins for other apps you signed up with a deleted Facebook account. You may recover such apps’ accounts by contacting them.
- Friends will still view the messages you had sent them since copies are stored in their inboxes.
- Oculus information, including your achievement and app purchases, will be deleted if you use your Facebook account to log in to it.
- Facebook pages under your sole control will also be deleted. If you want the page retained, give someone else full control before you delete your account.
Are Disabled Facebook Accounts permanent?
Disabled Facebook accounts may be temporary or permanent. Facebook may temporarily disable your account for failure to adhere to its terms and conditions or if they suspect your account is hacked. You have 30 days to appeal the decision, during which Facebook may agree to reactivate your account. After 30 days, your account is permanently disabled, and you won’t be able to access it anymore. You won’t be able to open a new Facebook account using the email linked to the disabled account.
If you disable your account, it will be temporary. When you deactivate your account, your profile, timeline, posts, and likes disappear. You can reactivate the account anytime to retrieve all the information attached to it. To restore, visit the Facebook website and sign in to your account. It will be automatically reactivated.
Is a disabled Facebook account the same as a deleted account?
A disabled Facebook account is not the same as a deleted account. Disabling a Facebook account doesn’t delete your timeline, photos, and status updates but temporarily hides them so other users cannot find them. You’ll recover old data if you decide to reactivate a disabled account. Deleting erases all the data permanently and cannot be restored after 30 days. Once an account is deleted, you cannot regain access, and you must create a new account if you wish to continue using Facebook services.
Why you shouldn’t delete your Facebook account
It can be disheartening to wake up to a disabled Facebook account, especially when you have done nothing wrong to deserve the actions. The first thing that may come to your mind is to figure out how to delete the account and deal with the issue. Wait! You can restore your account by filling out an appeal form, as deleting your account might cause you more trouble. Here is why:
Deleting your Facebook account means permanently cutting off your online interactions with family and friends through the platform. You will no longer receive their notifications or see their posts on Facebook. Eventually, you will lose touch with your social circle. This cuts you off from the opportunities that you may have previously shared.
You lose all your information on the platform
When you delete your Facebook account, everything on your timeline disappears forever. Unless you back up your data, your old photos, posts, and status updates will be erased. Pages that you control will also be deleted which can disadvantage your followers. Your Facebook friend list will be deleted, and you must start over again if you decide to open a new account.
You won’t appear in searches anymore
Facebook users won’t find you through searches which might be frustrating to those who want to connect. Even if you applied for jobs on Facebook, your prospective employers might not be able to get in touch if you didn’t provide alternative contacts.
Your Oculus information will be deleted too
If your Oculus account is linked to your Facebook account, its information will be erased too. Your achievements and app purchases will be deleted. This makes it impossible to return any apps, and your existing store credits will be lost.
Facebook work to ensure every user abides by its community standards and rules. However, you may consciously or unconsciously go against the terms and risk your account being disabled. If your account is disabled for genuine reasons, it may be hard to win an appeal case for account restoration, and eventually, your account will be permanently disabled.
So, the only way is to convince Facebook through customer service support to delete your account. If you successfully restore your account and you no longer need to use it, you can proceed to delete it through the steps highlighted in this article. Otherwise, always take time before you delete your account as you stand to lose all the information and lose touch with your friends and loved ones.